Skip to content

Jack Van Impe Meets Bob Seger. Hitchens Meets Eternity

December 17, 2011

 —– Christopher Hitchens has died.  Recently he wrote:

Even if my voice goes before I do, I shall continue to write polemics against religious delusions, at least until it’s hello darkness my old friend. In which case, why not cancer of the brain? As a terrified, half-aware imbecile, I might even scream for a priest at the close of business, though I hereby state while I am still lucid that the entity thus humiliating itself would not in fact be “me.” (Bear this in mind, in case of any later rumors or fabrications.)

Surely, we could safely assume he did not know Christ.  I do not have the details of whether or not a clergy member came to his deathbed.  But he certainly heard the Gospel.  Even his brother had written, “The Rage Against God:  How Atheism Led Me To Faith”.  So, who knows.  But we have only 1 story in the Bible of a deathbed conversion, and even now, most are rumored mythology, as in the case of Charles Darwin.

 

 —– And, The Beach Boys have confirmed a 50 show reunion tour.  No lie, my first ever concert was not The Cathedrals, but  The Beach Boys.  My grandparents took me at 3 years old and I was waving a glo-stick with furious delight when they began to play Kokomo. 

 

Well, I thought I dreamt this. 

The irony is my KJV, Independent Baptist grandmother loves Bob Seger AND voted for Jimmy Carter in the Presidential Election because he was a Sunday School teacher.  Really it was just the tradition of the Southern Democrat (because they do exist).  She votes Republican now.  Or at least, ever since her vote for Ross Perot in ’92.

From → Culture, Gospel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

