Skip to content

When The Child Comes Home

December 7, 2011

So along with the theme of the old becoming new again, figured I’d share this.  My father, Chris Allman, at this year’s Songwriter Showcase at NQC.  The first time I heard this song, a few years ago, was just like this.  An acoustic strapped around his shoulder.  A song at first listen, in which I wept, for I knew the inspiration in this heartfelt, reflective ballad.  Praise God the Father for His love.  Praise God the Father for redemption.  He can make all things new. 

 

 

10 Comments
  1. This is a very touching lyric. You may remember a while back we had a difference of opinion on just how much we liked this song, at least the performance of it on The Only Way. I said then that the lyric was great, but I couldn’t get into it musically. This setting, with Chris singing it alone and the simple acoustic guitars, is much better. Very moving. Tell your Dad to keep these songs comin’.

    • I do wish Greater Vision would stage it something like this – Chris on his acoustic, maybe with Rodney on bass for some added support and confidence. Southern Gospel is caricatured as people who only sing with tracks and don’t have a clue how to play an instrument, and people just don’t realize that every member of Greater Vision has a level of instrumental talent.

      • Trust me. I’ve mentioned this to them on SEVERAL occasions. I think it would add a fresh breath of life to the set and showcase their talents much more.

  2. Ah, so you decided to reveal yourself after all. Good on ya Dustin. 🙂

  3. By the way, that video is wicked high quality. I want to know how the user got it.

    • Oh, never mind, the fact that Chris Allman is the user might explain it. 😀

      I wish they’d include it as a bonus feature on NQC 2011…

  4. quartet-man permalink

    Cool on revealing your identity. In some ways it was cool now knowing, but it is also nice to know who I am talking to. 🙂

  5. quartet-man permalink

    *not

  6. DisneyGator permalink

    My favorite moment of the songwriter showcase, and my second favorite of NQC (behind the Hinson reunion). And since it’s all out in the open, maybe you can shed some light on why your dad didn’t go to Disney World this week. Inquiring minds want to know.

    • Well, a day in the studio, still in progress on a new house, Christmas tree shopping, and a mother who is hardcore about her kids missing extended time at school. Also doesn’t help that the price for breakfast with Cinderella really shot up there. Cinderella has really been slipping those by on us.

Leave a Reply

