Skip to content

Going With Jesus: A Book Illustration… and A Song?

December 1, 2011

An excerpt from a very mini book review I read a few weeks ago. 

I close my book Surprised by Grace: God’s Relentless Pursuit of Rebels with a story (not sure if this really happened or is simply parabolic) from Civil War days before America’s slaves were freed, about a northerner who went to a slave auction and purchased a young slave girl. As they walked away from the auction, the man turned to the girl and told her, “You’re free.”

With amazement she responded, “You mean, I’m free to do whatever I want?”

“Yes,” he said.

“And to say whatever I want to say?”

“Yes, anything.”

“And to be whatever I want to be?”

“Yep.”

“And even go wherever I want to go?”

“Yes,” he answered with a smile. “You’re free to go wherever you’d like.”

She looked at him intently and replied, “Then I will go with you.”

Some fear that grace-delivered, blood-bought, radical freedom (to do, say, and be whatever we want) will result in loveless license. But as the above story illustrates, redeeming unconditional love alone (not fear, not guilt, not shame) carries the power to compel heart-felt loyalty to the One who bought us (2 Corinthians 5:14).

 

We talk about songwriting around here every so often.  Would a symbolic story such as this, hinting even on racism (though clearly about our discipleship and slavery/servanthood in Christ) fly in the southern gospel world?  It’s a great illustration, can be told as a story, and highlights that Christ has set us free. 

How would it work…if it could work?   I, for one, would love to hear a creative writer tackle this concept with a specific illustration from History.

3 Comments
  1. “I’ve Come to Take You Home” written by Gerald Crabb and recorded by the Isaacs tells the beautiful story of Hosea. Gomer was a slave and bought back so that she could be free and the relation was made to our freedom from the slavery of sin.

    It is not exactly the same as you suggested but it certainly addresses slavery and freedom purchased by Christ for us…

    Davy

    • Absolutely. That is a great song and I love the idea. I believe I have discussed that before, either here or on another blog (and gave a shout out about the story in my last post). Either way, brilliant concept about a story not often told.

  2. I’m surprised to read this coming from a Calvinist. 😀

Leave a Reply

