Skip to content

The Hair Piece

October 29, 2011

If you’ve been around southern gospel for awhile, you’ve seen it.  You pretend not to notice, but every chance you get, you take a glance.  You wonder.  And sometimes, you know that hair ain’t real.

I’m not against the hair piece.  I remember a couple of particular artists whom I know very well, tacked it on nicely, and at the appropriate time.  At first, I just assumed they had submitted to a hair new style.  A new way to comb I thought, maximizing the potential of the hair on the head, making it look more full.  Then they took it off.  I was shocked.  It looked so good. And so real.

The reason they pulled it off?  At the first sign of thinning, they quickly transferred to the hair piece, making the transition subtle and smooth.  If done in this fashion, it seems to be sufficient.

But when you’re plainly bald, and then ‘new’ hair arises on top of your head, I question the move.

Phil Collins let it go.  Chris Daughtry had always let it go.  I think no less of them.  They still sell albums and fill the seats.  Just let it go.  I don’t see how it adds any self-confidence in your appearance.  If anything, it might subtract from it if you knew what it looked like, with chance for exposure.  This is only for those who use the ‘cheap’ hair piece, or fail to make a quick decision at first sign of major thinning.  In most cases, you have a couple of years to make that decision.  Use discernment.  Grey isn’t so bad.  Coloring the grey hair is a bit easier.  You have about 5 weeks before it starts coming back, and it’s relatively cheap to buy from a bottle.  And you don’t have to worry about it flying off for any reason. Grey is distinguished anyways.

Given the workload of the average southern gospel artist, hair plugs probably aren’t a good idea either.  If you’re an actor or an athlete, you can stay out of the public for an off-season, or in between movies, as the hair begins to grow in.  But for the gospel artist, you got 3 weeks max on your Christmas break.

I just don’t see the relevance in it.  Maybe if a group has more hair, they sell more CD’s to those old women.  But unless that is tested, I won’t believe it. (Although the Gaither train has always had plenty of it).

As a male, I understand the reality and “sadness” in losing hair.  It’s genetics.  It’s stress.  It happens to the best of ’em.  But it’s southern gospel.  Regardless of my ultimate feelings, it makes southern gospel…southern gospel.  And it’s so special in this genre.

So let’s make a pact not to stare so sharply if the hair piece is crooked.  And artists, I’m not saying get rid of it, I’m just suggesting a more prudent way to deal with it.  We love it, by the way.  It makes our genre unique.  Those silly Baptists. But in the end, we care more about your singing, writing, and personality than your hair, or lack of hair.

7 Comments
  1. Jake Hess made a wise choice.

  2. matt permalink

    One thing I always appreciated was George and Glen not wearing hair pieces. I think George had a bit of a comb-over though???

  3. I was asked once if I ever thought about “getting hair.” I replied, “I can’t afford it on a southern gospel salary!!”

  4. DisneyGator permalink

    There are a number of artists out there who’ve had the plugs done. One happens to be one of the best tenor/singer in the biz, but that’s the only hint everyone gets.

Leave a Reply

