Skip to content

Gospel Music Videos: Are You On The Bandwagon?

September 12, 2011

I remember when I would sneak around my parents and watch TRL hosted by Carson Daly.  When I was a kid.  (Anybody know if that show still exists?) I’m significantly older now. One thing there is definitely a shortage of in gospel music is certainly the music video.  But has that boat passed us by?  Anybody still watch these professionally done music videos?  Last time I checked MTV or CMT, it was mostly everything but music videos.

Talked a few months ago with a friend of mine in that works for Sony in Nasvhille, and formerly working for Byron Gallimore, star country producer of artists such as Tim McGraw.  The subject of music videos came up.  My friend confirmed my assumption, “music videos are fading out.  What people really want to see are the viral videos.  Stuff shot at live concerts.  With the technology of camera phones, you’re able to capture more real, live moments, that once couldn’t be seen.”

Enter Red Roots.

They’re still young and I can assume will begin to record better songs in due time.  Three triplets making a trio reminds me a bit of the old group, “Common Bond” (anybody else remember them?) While I like innovation, is this something that really attracts fans of this genre?  Furthermore, has even our secular culture surpassed the concept of a music video?  I can’t see my grandmother sitting around watching SGMT (Southern Gospel Music Television) and waiting on Red Roots to pop up on the Top 10.  The structure, design, and lighting looks like there was some time and money invested into this particular video.  Actually, I give them props for attempting to be creative.  A solid video can help with the pub, and here I am…discussing it.  But with a struggling economy in a small music market, is it resourceful for business?

This on the other hand, is a more quality video (or song).  But still, I find it hard pressed to believe that a lot of 50+ year olds are going to sit around and watch music videos on youtube.

While many of us rack our brains, calling for a different type of progress, ultimately it doesn’t matter.  I can’t see Triumphant Quartet in suits, walking around in an empty field, singing to a camera (yet little did I know The Ball Brothers would be doing it after the initial roughdraft). But if they do, I’d hope it wouldn’t be too elaborate.  I think this would be one of those cases where the idea is worth trying, but go with less…less might be more.  So do music videos add anything to this genre?  For 7th graders, yes.  They are still more intrigued with the idea of not living in a real world.  They are finding their way, and discovering new escape routes.  And that is probably more of the target for groups like Red Roots, Browders, and The Ball Brothers. The videos have become a way to market themselves, which I feel will be helpful to up and coming groups.  They don’t yet have the “name”, so the music video can be viewed as a type of shotgun to popularity.  My concern is for the sustainability of the process. It seems to forecast itself as another area where southern gospel would be behind.  And if it’s music videos, I’m actually fine with being behind.

I do love art, and love film, documentaries, and so forth.  But the vast majority of the “music videos” I see would not be that type of art.

But feel free to add your own opinions.

Many of you have seen The Cats “music video”, but I can appreciate this as well…

12 Comments
  1. I had a post about that too. In the comments, we were sort of coming to the same conclusion, namely, maybe it looks cool, but in the end it’s not practical.

    The kinds of videos where you’re standing around and singing have cropped up in other genres too, so it’s not just the Ball Brothers. But in any event I agree that a concept video that tells a story is vastly more interesting. I thought the BBs still came off rather nice, with a few slips, but what I really want is a story. That’s why I still really like that video where the family sings in a bar (I think it’s the Speers?)

    Still, this is just about me and my aesthetic desires. It doesn’t really make them any money. Although the Browns are selling this video of them doing “I Sing the Canon.” Not sure how many will buy since it’s already on Youtube:

    I like the part where they’re standing in the field best.

    • I originally had the Browns video in this post. But since The Browder’s new video came out last week, decided to post it instead. It worked better. The Browns video is good though, even with the awkward choreography.

  2. quartet-man permalink

    • Yeah, that one. 🙂

    • Thanks Q-Man. Classic video. And the best of the bunch actually, especially considering the contextual era. Shoot, not considering the era. It’s just a better video. That would have been relevant and daring in the mid 80s for a family sogo group. Had your Charlie Burke boys on board too.

  3. As for the Browders video, tried to watch a bit of it… couldn’t really bring myself to finish the song. Weak singing and writing. But very nice piano, and cinematography.

  4. DisneyGator permalink

    That Speers video was pretty good. Did I spot a Statler, a Burke, Micheal English, and the world famous Ed Hill?

    • DG, you even got the young Rick Strickland in the background, sitting at a table. He’s always had great hair. The whole crew.

  5. This has been refreshing. Especially the old Speers video. To clarify the Red Roots video. They are not targeting the 50 plus crowd. They seek to minister to their generation which is a youtube/facebook/website connection.

  6. Sherry permalink

    Check out their new music video

Leave a Reply

