Skip to content

Mike LeFevre & The Rare Autograph

August 7, 2011

—– Since I may have acknowledged my genuine appreciation for Michael English and what he has helped do in this genre, I’ll save the commentary for now.  But recently I bought an old LP of The Singing Americans’ “Black & White”.  I already had it on CD, and a few others on LP, well.. most of their work from the 80s, but decided to make the purchase anyways considering it was a super generous deal.  When I received it, autographs were all over the front cover.  The John Hancocks of Ed Hill, Dwayne Burke, Mark Fain, Phil Barker, Clayton Inman, and Mike LeFevre.  No Rick Strickland.  No Milton Smith.  No Michael English.  And that made it a lot more interesting.   If there was a legitimate method for valuing these types of items in SG, I would be interested in knowing what somebody else would pay for it (probably wouldn’t fly with Rick from Pawn Stars).  When one would think that 3 of those guys were no longer in the group at the time of the autograph, Mike LeFevre rises to the surface.  Some of us may know or remember that he traveled with them a couple of stints briefly as a fill in, in which some background can be found here in an interview.  I’ve heard talk that he may have recorded some parts on “Hearts of Praise, Songs of Majesty”, but I don’t know for sure.

I just wonder how many Mike LeFevre autographs are floating around on Singing American LP’s and cassettes, and more specifically…on one of the greatest albums of the genre.  It must be a rare thing.

—– And here’s how I stay sane.

4 Comments
  1. I have an Oak Ridge Boys album, “It’s Happening!” from a concert I attended when I was 12. It is signed by Duane Allen, Bill Golden (he wasn’t going by “William Lee” back then), “Little” Willie Wynn, and Noel Fox (who has since passed on)…always wondered if it was worth anything.

  2. quartet-man permalink

    Both would be worth something to me. 🙂

  3. “Black & White” was, by far, the best all-around recording the Singing Americans ever made. Apart from the “very wet” reverb, which was very popular at the time, it still sounds current…which is very difficult to achieve. In other words… it’s timeless. Glad you found one, FNR!

    • Absolutely, by FAR!!! And indeed, it is timeless. I actually had the Double Album they released last year at NQC, and had Live & Alive on LP previously. I saw Black & White for a cheap deal and figured it would be nice to have both on vinyl. So now I have copies of each. I love the reverb. Disney Gator says the same things about “The King Came Down”, that it’s timeless.

Leave a Reply

