Skip to content

Shark Week & Other News

June 23, 2011

—– Would Jesus listen to Jazz?  A Colorado pastor and Jazz musician states some comparisons detailing the technique, practice, and improvisation of both Christianity and Jazz.  This is really more of an advertisement for Denver Theological Seminary, but you can check it out here.

—– Carlos Tevez, an Argentine soccer player for Manchester City (in England) is seeking a transfer.  He has cited problems over contract negotiations and his failure to learn and adapt to the culture and language.  Ironically, he appeared on a prominent Argentine show and The Beatles, “A Hard Day’s Night” was right on cue as he entered the room for the TV interview.  The Beatles have conquered even Argentina, and they apparently don’t care to want to understand the lyrics.  As we move the Gospel of Christ in the form of missionaries to new and previously restricted areas, what will be the next country for Southern Gospel music to conquer?  Ireland?  South Africa?  Kentucky?

—– I was recently looking at the liner notes for The Talleys “Typical Day” album and noticed that Bela Fleck had played the banjo on the recording.   If you’re not familiar with Bela Fleck, he gained popularity playing New Grass Revival (this is worth the watch),  who had songs made more popular by Garth Brooks (they also recorded “Let’s Make A Baby King”, recorded by other country and southern gospel artists).  He later founded Bela Fleck & The Flecktones (also containing one of the best bassists in music), known for their innovative fusion of bluegrass, folk, and jazz.  He’s played for Dave Matthews Band, Alanis Morrisette, and others.  When it comes to a banjo, Fleck may be one of the best ever.  It spawned this thought, “what other notable and world-wide secular musicians have played on other Southern Gospel recordings outside of Country music?  I know it happens often in CCM.  Maybe the ticket proceeds from the FNR Awards can cover Fleck playing on next year’s McKamey’s album, which I will gladly contribute.

***Side note:  New Grass Revival’s last original studio project was entitled “Friday Night in America by New Grass Revival”.  Connect the dots and you’ll find my inspiration for the title of this blog.

—– To my non-Christian friends, I’m viewed as a Biblical Fundamentalist.  In Christian denominational structures, I’m probably close to a fundamentalist, but not quite.  I believe it all to be broadly and (sometimes) inaccurate jargon anyways.  But regardless of your affiliation.  Reading this ignited my thoughts and appreciation for the fundamentalist view that I’ve always had, but never put in words.  I realize I’m more of a “fundamentalist” than I originally thought, at least to the secular world.  In the midst of our theological differences or how you coin “fundamentalist” from the word it defines, tries to define, or what we have replaced it to define, many of us can rest in these facts without much debate.

—– In 1986, Shark Week was established by the powers that be (Discovery Channel I think) with the intention that the world could be educated that they’re not just killing machines with killer instincts.  It quickly became one of my favorite TV pastimes of the summer.  Furthermore, my athletic feats on the basketball court and football fields enhanced my own personal, Killer Instinct, and in many areas of the region I was dubbed “The Shark” (which was really a joke from another Ohio State athlete with the same name).  So to prepare you guys for the ultimate Shark Week experience I will be listing a name from Facebook in which all my readers will add he or she as a friend.  It will be very amusing to picture his notifications blowing up from a bunch of my readers in 1 day requesting to be his/her  friend.  This is called a Shark Attack.  So first up…former Kingsmen musician, Gary Dillard.  Remember…this is all in fun.  Here’s his facebook link.  Let the Shark Attack begin.

—– BTW, I should have part II in the Project Debut series up by Saturday morning, maybe earlier.

8 Comments
  1. Deanna permalink

    South Africa is already into Gospel music. Gaither Homecoming has been there, and EH&SS has had solo concerts there two times already.

  2. Bela Fleck has made some amazing music on the banjo since New Grass Revival dissolved, but I enjoy his NGR work more than anything he’s done since. His recordings with the Flecktones got progressively more “out there” from _Flight Of The Cosmic Hippo_ on.

    NGR used to play regularly at a dive not far from my house. I’ve always regretted that I never saw them in a concert setting, but I never went to see them there due to the reputation of the place. I do have a “bootleg” from one of their performances there, and I’m glad I didn’t go! Between every song, the drunks are screaming at the top of their lungs. At one point, they threaten to pack up and leave if the people don’t calm down. I don’t think I’d have been able to enjoy them in a setting like that.
    – – – – –
    Kevin Grantt produces music in Nashville and plays in Jamey Johnson’s band. He used to play bass for the Ruppes, and he performed on their recordings even after he left the group. He played on their last major release, _Sweet Forever_. He’s from this area of NC. I see his brother from time to time.

    • I was unfortunately not able to see NGR either. I knew of a few get together reunions, but nothing that ever seemed to be publicized. Apparently the people in this dive weren’t there for the music. I have seen them live one time, opening up at a Dave Matthews show. Thanks for the info on Grant. I hadn’t thought about him in years.

  3. steven permalink

    Great Blog post. Enjoyed the video on Jazz and the gospel – I am a lover of Jazz and Jesus 🙂 One of the most uplifting, goosebump inducing concerts I went to was a Sacred Jazz concert put on by the Noel Friedline Quartet at our annual Jazz Festival in town. I would say the most musically inspiring rendition of amazing grace was performed with passion, musical artistry and there were watery eyes all around. In that room there were people from all walks of life, various beliefs, some just “jazz lovers” but when that song was played – something special happened that went beyond just magical artistry but I really believe people sensed for a moment the presence of God. Of course, God can use whichever genre of music he chooses and i truly believe he does, not only in our beloved SG, but in Jazz, Folk, Rock, Contemporary, P&W – when his name is truly lifted up

    Loved the fundamental portion of the post as well. I respect John Piper and his studies of God word. Its nice to see, while I don’t agree with some of the stands of fundamentalism, the body of Christ can get along when we want too

  4. Well, Alison Krauss did some guest work on one of Gordon Mote’s albums, but would that technically fall under country music?

    Loved the Piper list. It’s completely true for nearly every fundamentalist I’ve met. I have many good friends who would fall under it, and I firmly believe they are the salt of the earth. And it describes me pretty well too.

  5. Oh by the way, Bela Fleck rox my sox. He also did some guest stuff on Michael Card’s _A Fragile Stone._ Have you checked out his album _Perpetual Motion_ where he plays classical? Unreal.

  6. Sam permalink

    Re: Other secular artists playing for SG groups- Chet Atkins played on many Statesmen recordings.

    • quartet-man permalink

      I believe Chet Atkins’ first professional job was with Wally Fowler and the Georgia Clodhoppers (which eventually became the Oak Ridge Quartet). He was pretty involved in gospel music later too.

Leave a Reply

