Skip to content

King David & His Curiously, Perfect Heart

June 3, 2011

Worth the read:

Why we shouldn’t concretely use archaeological evidence as a Christian apologetic, but why it can also be effective:  In many archaeological circles, there has been much debate that there is no hard proof of any archaeological evidence of King David.  And if he was truly a king, he probably wasn’t what the Bible made him out to be.  Most of this is liberal thought, but I can’t say I blame an unbelieving and lost archaeologist for what he can’t prove.  I wouldn’t read the entire article, but the first couple pages should suffice if interested.  By the way, B.C.E. means, “Before Common Era” as C.E. refers to “Common Era”, replacing “Before Christ” and “Anno Domini”…and many conservatives view it as another evangelical loss pulled away by liberal politicking.  Article found here.  http://www.bib-arch.org/bar/article.asp?PubID=BSBA&Volume=37&Issue=03&ArticleID=06&Page=1&UserID=0&

Speaking of the man after God’s own heart…here’s an old clip from Perfect Heart.

Worth the watch:

DBM recently broke down a portion of the saga from the “Million Dollar Quartet”.  Funderburk, Shipley, and Stice were mostly the aim of conversation at that point in time (that I remember).  But baritone Mark Lanier, is featured on this one.  He didn’t have the range of other past and current baritones, but when in his comfort zone, he had a very quality voice and never seemed to approach more than what was needed.  He was one of the best in the business, and today he goes vastly unnoticed, as most baritones do.  Baritones are paid to blend.  He’ll play a part in another post in weeks to come.

But in this particular video, Shephard is at tenor, Shipley’s hair is awesome and untouchable, and the crowd seems to clap on the 1/3.  Isn’t that odd…

11 Comments
  1. I was involved in Southern Gospel for several years before I got reasonably accustomed to clapping on the downbeat!

  2. Why shouldn’t we concretely use archaeological evidence as a Christian apologetic?

  3. Being a drummer, I can’t stand to clap on the downbeat. It used to frustrate me. I’ve come a long way.

    and YGG, mainly because archaeology can change. The Word of God cannot. When you try to fit it in for science, you can find yourself in a hole. And there are just some things we’ll never be able to find or find proof to. I love apologetics, and it’s a great biblical tool, it’s just not always sufficient for doubters in providing evidencet. Of course, God does things at amazing times. Glad He made the Dead Sea Scrolls available.

    • Well, it’s certainly true that doubters can still find ways to doubt in the face of convincing evidence. But I’ve known of people who were saved because they realized they couldn’t escape the cold, hard facts, and they made the choice to yield their lives to Christ as a result.

      I look at archaeological discoveries as like little clues God has granted us. Like Hansel and Gretel’s pebbles. I imagine it delights God when we pick them up and show them to the world, saying, “Look! It’s here! The evidence is here! God has not left himself without witness.” And there have been many, many astonishing finds. I believe one archaeologist actually got saved because of what he was discovering.

      As just one example, they found the bones of Caiaphas not that long ago. I attended a lecture by historian Paul Maier where he kept saying, “I still can’t believe it. The BONES of CAIAPHAS. It blows my mind.” He cracks me up. A great guy and a great scholar.

      • I don’t deny that it’s been very important in Biblical research and conservative scholarship. I actually took a Biblical Archaeology course in seminary at a conservative school and you’d be surprised to know how many times Christians actually used archaeology for evidence and were later found to be wrong. Of course that was mostly in the early years of excavating and research. Thus the reason I said, “concretely”.

        And many others don’t want Hansel and Gretel pebbles. They want boulders.

  4. Ah, well, I just used the word “pebbles” for the illustration, but in fact there have been bonafide discoveries that really are more like boulders. But some people insist that God must have the stars rearrange themselves in the sky to spell out their name before believing. (If only I were making that up…)

  5. As for the video…I didn’t know Gary Shepherd sang tenor with Perfect Heart! Sure hope he doesn’t find the post I did where I called him a chipmunk… 😮

  6. southern brit permalink

    Archaeology isn’t quite my thing…but solid hair and 1/3 beats are certainly things I can relate to. And I agree, baritones are often taken for granted. So important to the fullness and depth of good harmony yet often overshadowed. Can’t wait to see the upcoming post…this really makes me long for an “I love the 90s” r

  7. southern brit permalink

    (Touch screen…gotta love it) as I was saying… “I love the 90s” southern gospel special. So many classic videos. Great posts..keep ’em coming!

  8. quartet-man permalink

    Although Ed Hill is a master and blends well, I preferred the Stamps lineup of Baize, (Donnie) Sumner, Enoch and Sterban. Four quality voices that did great on the group stuff, but could do solos. Even though I like the Oaks better, as a whole even they didn’t have the collection of voices at the time that group had.

    In modern day, I really like Lowry. Although Hall and Mcspadden blended better volume-wise at times (Lowry really belts it at times), his voice blends better voice-wise and he can blend (for instance the unison part on Alpha and Omega). I love power harmony where it belongs and he can deliver the goods, but I also like good blend on areas needed and unison parts are some of those places.

    • and to think the issue prevailing Lowry at the time of his hire was his blending ability. He is rather strange at it, but nice and effective.

Leave a Reply

